Excerpt from my Work In Progress

I’ve been working on a manuscript for some time now. A futuristic literary rodeo. A reinvented apocalyptic tall tale. An Old West story set in a future of outlandish characters, untrustworthy aliens, murderous robots, and one deadly pathogen bent on extinguishing humanity. Here’s a quick excerpt brought to you by our hero, the roughest, toughest Candy Ann Darling, and her sidekick, Suzanne…

 

Candy looked from the road to Suzanne and then back. “Is that what we’re talking about now? Even you don’t believe that a good plan would have saved Kid.”

“Well then, you shot at me and ruined my good hat,” Suzanne said.

Candy tipped her head at the horizon ahead of them. “That I did.”

“You shot at me,” Suzanne demanded.

“Your hat was ugly then and it looks better now. What do you want from me?”

“I want to know if you was trying to kill me.”

Candy smiled, exposing her missing tooth. “Are you asking me if I miss, Suzanne?”

Tagged , , ,

11 thoughts on “Excerpt from my Work In Progress

  1. Interesting situation, refreshing to have two women as the leads. Great snippet!

    Like

  2. historysleuth1 says:

    Is this excerpt part of weekend Writing Warriors? I followed your link from there. If so, welcome to the group! I’m one of the mods. We have a few guidelines right on the page where you signed up. http://www.wewriwa.com
    Partly, we ask that you keep your excerpt to 10 sentences to allow time for you and other parcipants to hop around the list. And could you add a link back to our main page?

    I like the story concept. Good wise cracking between your two characters too!

    Like

  3. Welcome to Weekend Writing Warriors! We’re so glad to have you!

    I like this excerpt! Their banter is fantastic. Good character building in only a few sentences. Nicely done!

    Like

  4. Great story! The characters sound like fun and I can’t wait to read more. 🙂

    Like

  5. Welcome to the group! Great snippet. The synopsis made me think of West World (with Yul Brynner long ago). This should be an exciting read!!

    Like

  6. Well at least the hat looks better now! LOL Great scene and welcome to the group!

    Like

Leave a Reply

