You Are in a White Room: Part Two

10857838_601218143341730_5755293110468344287_n.png

I’m back with Part Two of my horror flash serial, an ongoing project in association with Weekend Writing Warriors.

Click Part I if you missed the beginning.

 

II

You are in a white room. The two tallies that you scratched beside the door now read 102 and 5. You do not know who you are. You do not know why you are in the room. You are gripped by a terrible fear that you have always been in the room. You believe this to be irrational. You believe it is the result of fear and panic. But how can you know for certain? There is only one thing of which you can be sure. You are in a white room.

 

Part III will be up same time same place next week.

Tagged , , , , ,

14 thoughts on “You Are in a White Room: Part Two

  1. Kim Magennis says:

    It begs the question: are you even sane?
    I am hooked Jessica. I have to know what happens!

    Like

  2. This has a nightmarish feel to it. Vividly drawn!

    Like

  3. Alexis Duran says:

    Great use of crisp, unadorned language. Very powerful snippet here.

    Like

  4. Unsettling, to say the least. Novel idea for these weekly snippets!

    Like

  5. Ed Hoornaert says:

    I was thinking the same thing Kim said, about questionable sanity. I could be totally wrong, of course, but that’s my current guess about what this was about.

    Like

  6. Amalie says:

    I feel like this story would play right into those “escape the room” type games, which I love. I’m intrigued to see where this goes!

    Also, as others have suggested, are we, as the narrator, sane? Rubber padded room much? And what might have made “us” that way? Intriguing premise.

    Like

    • jessicahanna says:

      Interesting that you would say that, Amalie, because I’ve been thinking of some RPGs I’ve seen as I write this. You are in a small space. You have a few items to explore. It isn’t exactly where I’m going, but it’s definitely an inspiration. Hope you enjoy next week’s installment!

      Liked by 1 person

  7. chellecordero says:

    I wonder if this person is in an actual room or just locked in something in his/her mind. Whatever, it is absolutely chilling to feel this isolation and desolation. Great snippet.

    Like

Leave a Reply

